People Who Leave Their Dogs Out In The Cold Can Now Face Jail Time In Pennsylvania

For many of us, summertime seems like the most important season to be concerned about a dog's well-being while they're out in the elements. After all, animal abuse isn't just people who physically harm their pups themselves; it's also people who don't care enough to keep their dogs out of harm's way.

Every year we hear more and more stories of these poor pups being left to suffer inside unbearably hot cars by neglectful owners who simply don't care about their pet's health. Or, the dogs are left out in the hot sun with no water, no shelter, and no way of cooling themselves down.

But as we slowly start moving towards the colder months, these sweet doggos face another environmental threat: the harsh temperatures of winter. And some owners just don't think about just how cold a dog can get when they stick them outside on a leash for hours. Or, they just don't care.

But thankfully, the long arm of the law is coming down on these people who let their dogs suffer in the worst weather Mother Nature can throw at us.

Unsplash | Alex Blăjan

The state of Pennsylvania is taking action against neglectful dog owners and has come up with a new law to punish anyone who thinks it's O.K. to leave their pups out in unfavorable temperatures.

According to People, the state recently passed a new law dubbed "Libre's Law", after the rescued pooch who inspired its regulations.

At just seven weeks old, Libre the Boston Terrier pup was found tied up outside a Lancaster County farm.

The sweet dog was suffering in terrible living conditions and was discovered to be ill and emaciated. He endured trauma, abuse, and neglect from his cruel owners, but was thankfully rescued by a good Samaritan and given a loving new home.

After his highly publicized rescue, Libre inspired the state's new legislation which seeks to protect innocent dogs by punishing neglectful owners.

Unsplash | Jahsie Ault

This new law bolsters penalties for anyone found to have forced their pet to stay outside and suffer through extreme temperatures, both hot and cold.

Under Libre's Law, no dog can be left leashed and alone outside for more than 30 minutes in temperatures above 90 degrees or below 32 degrees Fahrenheit.

Unsplash | Marek Szturc

Anyone found to have violated these new laws will face a $750 fine and up to 14 days in jail.

There are also harsher punishments in place for pet owners who intentionally subject their animals to torture, neglect or abuse.

Those people can be charged with a third-degree animal abuse felony, which carries with it a $15,000 fine and up to seven years' jail time.

Unsplash | Emiliano Bar

“I am beyond thrilled,” Jennifer Nields, cruelty officer for the Lancaster County Animal Coalition, told Lancaster Online of the new law.

She added, “This won't stop cruelty but it will put an emphasis on the importance of justice for their suffering. The laws are recognition of their pain and what they deserve.”

h/t: People, Lancaster Online

Filed Under: